Quote:
Originally Posted by Mmmm, Burger (C.J.)
Soccer experts question - Based on some whistles in the WC it appears that a player can be offsides even if they do not receive the ball until after the ball has hit the goalkeeper or the goalpost. Is that correct? And why is that the rule?
Put aside the debate on offsides, if another player takes a shot on goal and it happens to go to an offside player only on the rebound, it doesn't seem particularly consistent with the purpose of the rule to keep applying it to them.
|
The question is whether a player is in an offside position when the ball is played (passed or shot). So if someone takes a shot and a rebound falls to a player who was in an offside position, she is just as offside as she would have been if the ball had been passed to her. The reason is the same, really.
This is from FIFA's Laws of the Game (Law 11):
Quote:
A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his team, he is, in the opinion of the referee, involved in active play by:
interfering with play or
interfering with an opponent or
gaining an advantage by being in that position
|
What I don't understand, conceptually, is why there is no offsides on a throw-in.